The Demon of River Heights

This is the first book in the Nancy Drew Graphic Novel series. I was pretty excited when I picked it up since I always enjoyed reading Nancy Drew. Instead of being a recreation of the original first Nancy Drew book (The Secret of the Old Clock) this one is a modern story. I understand wanting to create contemporary characters for today’s young readers, but I missed the old Nancy, Bess, and George. The mystery was still there, though more technological with the use of cellphones and investigation of a filming crew’s disappearance. However, my least favorite aspect of the book: Modern Nancy Drew cannot remember to put gas in her car! I’m pretty sure Original Nancy Drew always remembered to fill up her blue roadster.

This is definitely worth a read – or maybe look since it’s a graphic novel and has more pictures than words. If this is how young readers today are introduced to Nancy Drew, it’s not a bad thing. I will be reading more.

2 Responses to The Demon of River Heights

  1. […] Recent Books Read The Demon ofRiver Heights ArtemisFowl JudyMoody […]

  2. […] it, seeing them in color would have been more fun. Unlike the Nancy Drew graphic novel I reviewed last time, these books are true to the original stories. I’m glad Scholastic is re-issuing the books in […]

Leave a Reply

