Kristy’s Great Idea

You can probably tell that I’m still in my graphic-novel phase, and when I found out there were graphic-novel versions of the first few books in the Baby-sitters Club series by Ann M. Martin, I knew I would be reading them as soon as I could. This is the first in the original series and the first in the graphic-novel series. I really enjoyed seeing the characters I love to read about in picture form. Raina Telgemeier did a great job adapting the story and drawing the characters. The novels are drawn in black and white, which did not bother me as I read, but now that I think about it, seeing them in color would have been more fun. Unlike the Nancy Drew graphic novel I reviewed last time, these books are true to the original stories. I’m glad Scholastic is re-issuing the books in this form. I really enjoyed them when I was younger (and still enjoy them today), and I’m happy young girls will get to meet Kristy, Mary Anne, Claudia, and Stacey. There will be four books total: Kristy’s Great Idea, The Truth About Stacey, Mary Anne Saves the Day, and Claudia and the Mean Janine.

Leave a Reply

