The Secret of the Old Clock

After checking my local library, I was pleasantly surprised to see a fairly large Nancy Drew collection.  So naturally I decided I’d begin re-reading them…because I obviously don’t have enough other books on my to-read list.

I love Nancy Drew.  I used to read them when I was younger, I enjoyed (for the most part) re-reading this one, and I currently have The Hidden Staircase sitting on my nightstand.  However, this is a reprint of the 1930 original, and it includes racial stereotyping, female oppression, and antiquated vocabulary (“jaunt” for example?  I also made fun of “roadster” until my dad informed me it’s actually a type of car and not just a random term created to describe Nancy’s blue car).  Fortunately, a publishers’ note mentions this upfront in the hopes that readers won’t be too surprised and offput.

Despite these obvious blemishes, The Secret of the Old Clock is still a classic.  Nancy is a great role model:  intelligent, ambitious, kind-hearted.  Granted, she should probably be a bit safer — chasing after robbers who previously locked her in a closet and left her to starve without telling anyway is probably not the best idea.  In this first book in the series, there’s also no mention of George, Bess, or Ned.  Perhaps they show up later in the series.  I’ll find out soon.

One Response to The Secret of the Old Clock

  1. Patrice louise says:

    this isnt the cover of the book i have…

Leave a Reply

